I have finally launched!

I created this blog page back in May, 2012.  Something stopped me going beyond playing with themes, widget placement and the like.  I can’t put my finger on it; perhaps my mind wasn’t made up as to why I wanted to blog…

Keeping up with the in-crowd?  Sure; there’s always a bit of that.

Having an outlet?  I know I need many of these in my life to survive.

Feeling like I’m part of something bigger than I can imagine?  Most definitely.

I think that the common theme throughout my life that has kept me living a strong life with type 1 diabetes is my connectedness to others facing similar challenges and successes.  As a child, it was attending recreational camps coordinated by the Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne.  As an adult it is a little harder.  I am married, we have two delightful children and I work part time.  I strive to keep life simple.  That is not always the case, and I find that I need support from peers also living with diabetes at irregular intervals.  My needs don’t always line-up with support group meeting schedules, or even other friends’ busy social lives.

So for me, that’s where the Diabetes Online Community, (DOC) comes in.  Engaging with others through Twitter, blog posts and Facebook has very nearly changed my life.  It seems as though you can teach an old dog new tricks!  However, the thing that has stirred my spirit the most was reading the blog of a now good friend, @STroyCrow at http://stroycrow.blogspot.com.au/

Simon changed my perspective on blogging without actually saying a word to me.  Sharing his story helped to reignite my belief in the value of true friendships.  How friendships are like the glow from a lighthouse whilst you are battling the ocean on a dark and stormy night.  Life with type 1 diabetes can be dark and stormy at times; that is for sure.

My aim is to be that glow for others.

I witnessed the impact that Simon’s story had on others at Australia’s first Diabetes Social Media Summit.  We gathered to formulate ways to put health care and social media on the agenda of the people who have our lives in in their hands.  I’m talking about government, traditional media and health care professionals.

Meeting Kerri Marrone Sparling, @sixuntilme & http://www.sixuntilme.com/, reminded me that being involved in social media for diabetes is not a competition.  It’s not about how many Followers or Likes you get.  It’s not about saying what everyone wants to hear.  It’s not about being the first to blog about a high profile current issue.

It is simply about your voice.

Your voice is important.

And so is mine.

So here I go!

8 thoughts on “I have finally launched!

  1. Cara says:

    I’m so glad for you!! I’ve been blogging for what feels like forever. For a while I felt like I wasn’t “good enough” because I don’t get very many comments. But you know what, I’ve found that blogging is a release for me. Sometimes a post is a hit. Sometimes it isn’t. Either way, blogging has led me to some of the best friends I’ve ever had. That’s what’s important. Connection makes it all worth while.

  2. 1type1 says:

    Thanks for your thoughts, Cara. I agree with you. Connection DEFINITELY makes it all worth while 🙂

  3. Alanna says:

    Yay! Welcome to the blogosphere 🙂

  4. mikeinspain says:

    Yay! Well done Kim and good for you.

    I understand fully where you are coming from and even experience it now. Lack of blog action but no less participation in the #DOC.

    Go your own direction in your own time and do what you feel comfortable doing? Some people are able to write, write and write some more.

    Good luck! Mike 🙂

  5. Kerri. says:

    I am SO glad you’re blogging! I can’t wait to get to know your voice even better. xo

Leave a Reply

