An irrational thought

I have the occasional irrational thought.  About my diabetes.  And how I really don’t like it sometimes.  When it all gets a bit too much, I start wishing on that illusive ‘shooting star’ that it would all just go away.

Late last year we all lived through a day that will go down in history.  It was the twelfth day, of the twelfth month, of the two thousand and twelfth year of the world as we know it.  I woke up the way I always do on a Wednesday.  Ready to take on another day jam-packed with ferrying the kiddies around and working in town.  I did my routine BGL check and got this little beauty…

Perfection in time and diabetes

I repeated the test because that sort of perfection in time and diabetes never happens to me and I didn’t believe what I was seeing.  I’m telling you; n-e-v-e-r.  You see, 5.5 mmol/L is the ‘holy grail’ of living with type 1 diabetes.  It is the target BGL that we are all supposed to be achieving.  It is the epitome of excellent control and diabetes management.  Would you believe, I got the same result again?  And all on 12 December, 2012 to boot!

My delicate and hopeful heart went into instantaneous overdrive.  What if I just didn’t eat all day?  And didn’t move all day?  If I stayed in bed, didn’t administer any bolus insulin, eat any carbohydrates or expend any energy, I could stay at 5.5 mmol/L all day, like a healthy person.

And then I snapped myself back into reality.  Did I really just say that?!

I am healthy.  Yes; I have diabetes.  But that does not equate to being unhealthy.

And whose blood sugar stays at 5.5 mmol/L for every second of their existence, anyway?

I’d love to hear from you if yours does!

But until then, I will still go for a frolic in the land of fairytales every now and again.  I will dare to dream and take the occasional mental holiday from my diabetes… just to keep me sane.

2 thoughts on “An irrational thought

  1. Ok, I know this might scare you, but I think like that ALL THE TIME! Well, anytime I need to eat, anyway. If I didn’t have to eat, I could totally nail the BG’s most of the time. 🙂

  2. 1type1 says:

    I know! Food really messes with things… if only it wasn’t so good, right?!

Leave a Reply

