January DSMA Blog Carnival

This post is my January entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival. If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetessocmed.com/2013/january-dsma-blog-carnival-2

New Year with diabetes: Striving for a new-found motivation in 2013!

I know this sounds like quite a mundane topic for most, but not for me. Up until recently, my entire health focus had been centred around preparing to have children. That was a mindset I chose to take. As a child and teen, living with diabetes was more about just ‘making it work’. When I entered my mid-twenties and met my now husband, Paul, I shifted gears and used the desire to have children as my motivation to stay fit and healthy.

And it worked! Check out these two cherubs of mine, Aspen and Jarrah.

20130131-160758.jpg

But I didn’t stop to think for second about what I would do after Paul and I finished having children. (Apart from the obvious; getting the most out of this gorgeous life of ours!)

So this year I am striving for something very simple; for me to be the motivation for all of my diabetes and health choices. It is going to be a massive mindset shift, however I have started doing so in other areas of my life, so I know I can do it with my diabetes.

One choice I have already made is to build a new line into our family budget and my diabetes management routine; continuous glucose monitoring. One thing that I know I need to do is use CGMS most of the time. Doing this will provide me with the data to make adjustments to keep my blood sugar levels in range, the peace of mind that I can get ahead and prevent nasty hypos or hypers, but most of all the reassurance that I am doing absolutely everything in my power to manage my diabetes as best as I can.

For me.

For the long haul.

I hereby solemnly swear that I will do my utmost to live to see my 90th birthday, and all those who read this post will be invited to my celebration by the sea!

PS. Apologies for any bloopers in this post. I am writing this on the iPad while on a family camping trip!

3 thoughts on “January DSMA Blog Carnival

  1. I’m making the same commitment to use my CGM as much as I can (and can afford). I would use it full time if I could. So worth it for Low Suspend.

  2. I think this is a great thing for all of us to work on. It’s so hard, sometimes, to put ourselves first.

  3. […] Kim is striving to make herself the source of her diabetes motivation. […]

Leave a Reply

