DBlog Week #4 – Accomplishments Big and Small

DBlog Week 2013 Banner

I love technology.  I absolutely love it when it applies to my life and makes things a little easier.  For example, the invention of iCloud has helped my family calendar run so much more smoothly.  Or should I say, has helped my husband to not double-book us or overlook an important date…

When it comes to diabetes technology I am fortunate enough to access pretty much anything that I desire on the Australian market.  So when I got the opportunity to try out a Continuous Glucose Monitoring System, (CGMS) for the first time, I thought all my Christmases had come at once.  I clearly remember sitting on the couch with my pump sitting on a cushion next to me; one eye on the television and the other on my graph.  I simply couldn’t believe that I didn’t have to guess do a finger prick to know what my blood sugar levels, (BSL’s) were doing.  What a relief.  What a gift.  And what fun I had with all that data!

What I didn’t think was possible was to stumble across another system that was superior to the CGMS…

While wearing the CGMS I managed to maintain near-perfect fasting blood sugar readings.  So I was quite surprised one morning when I woke up to find that my levels were through the roof and I, (and my husband) had managed to sleep through all of the alarms alerting me to this.  So I spent the next few minutes scrolling back through the data to find out where things went pear-shaped.

And my heart jumped into my throat.

I had been sporting an “undetectable” low BSL for over two hours during the wee hours of the morning.  Fortunately for me my body had kicked in and pulled me out of it.  And if my fasting BSL was anything to go by, my body overdid it by a country mile.

Then I got to thinking.  I remembered having several dreams about being a CSI Agent, like on the television show.  At one point we were all sitting around a big boardroom table discussing the latest case, and my pager kept going off…

Hold on a minute!  Could that have actually been my pump that was alarming?

In my dream, I kept cancelling the page because we were talking about far more interesting stuff like blood spatter, time of death and unidentified DNA left on the victim’s body.

Oh dear.  Maybe I was actually snoozing the pump alarms.

To this day I still don’t know what caused that low overnight, and why my husband or I didn’t manage to wake up to any of the alerts my pump was sending out.  All I know is that my body managed to override a system which I considered to be far superior to anything I’d known.  And all just so I could keep dreaming about being a CSI Agent.

A greeting card my beautiful husband gave to me.

A greeting card my beautiful husband gave to me.

Fortunately for me my body still saved me.

My best accomplishment yet is that my body saved me that night.

 

 

 

 

 

For more information on Diabetes Blog Week 2013, this topic or how to get involved, click here!

5 thoughts on “DBlog Week #4 – Accomplishments Big and Small

  1. Daisy says:

    That is ALWAYS something to be proud of as an achievement! Overnight hypos scare me the most these days but I put my trust in my body that, if I have one, it’ll get me through it. I’m yet to use a CGM but it sounds like they’re amazing! 🙂 Thank you for this lovely and also really quite humourous post in places! (Love the bit about your CSI dream!) Looking forward to reading more of your posts x

  2. ABCanet says:

    Honestly, I don’t get all the fuss about CGM technology, beyond (right or wrong) the detecting of hypo-excursions that I’m easily forever and always unaware of.

    • 1type1 says:

      Each to their own, Andrew… Each to their own 🙂

      • ABCanet says:

        That’s a perfectly fair point! I’ll give you that. Personally it’s an ‘all in’ or ‘not at all’ decision.

        Maybe this is just me, but I think my dream would have to have been my pager/pump constantly going off during a ‘walk and talk’ meeting or while delivering a press bwiefing on the set of The West Wing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

