DBlog #5 – Freaky Friday

DBlog Week 2013 Banner

My colleague and I had a bit of a giggle in the office yesterday over this topic.  Off the tops of our heads, we really couldn’t think of what else we might prefer to live with instead of diabetes.  So we did what any intelligent person would do; we turned to the world wide web!  My colleague starting going through a list of chronic illness listed on the Chronic Illness Alliance website. (This is a great organisation by the way, so be sure to check them out!)

After much thought and deliberation with myself, I’ve decided I’d like to keep my diabetes thank you! And here’s why…

1. I have built up 26+ years of experiential knowledge living with diabetes. I am not an expert in anything else like I am in my health. I really don’t want to have to start again.
2. I am friends with some of the most amazing people because we have had diabetes in common. I don’t want to lose that bond that I have with them, nor risk not experiencing it again in the future.
3. Diabetes has helped to guide me in my career choices, both paid and volunteer roles. I absolutely love what I do and I want to keep doing it!
4. I wouldn’t ever want to make claims that I’d prefer to live with a chronic illness someone else has instead of diabetes. What do I know? How on earth could I make that judgement call? I can’t. I shouldn’t. So I won’t.
5. And really, diabetes ain’t that bad!

It reminds me of my rendition of The Serenity Prayer I say to myself all the time…

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

For more information on Diabetes Blog Week 2013, this topic or how to get involved, click here!

3 thoughts on “DBlog #5 – Freaky Friday

  1. surfacefine1 says:

    Love it (and I’m a fellow fan of the serenity prayer). xoxo

  2. Kelley says:

    Great points….I forget that my 20 years of experience do come in handy sometimes 😛 And I also love the serenity prayer-but don’t hear it enough-thanks!

Leave a Reply

