It’s Easy As 1, 2, 3…

My son, Jarrah is turning three in April.  After harnessing the power of verbal communication, (in other words, he spoke and most understood) I made a quiet decision to start talking about my diabetes to him.  I’ve done my best to adapt words and concepts to age-appropriate material, and that has been a feat in itself!  How do you explain to a two year old boy why Mummy gets to eat jelly beans when ever she has a hypo?  Suffice to say I have recently switched to glucose tablets to avoid that discussion.   Merely picking my battles there!

Back in December last year, Jarrah fell very ill with a chest infection that graduated to a mild case of pneumonia.  I spent most nights calming and comforting him through coughing fits and fevers.  One thing that ended up being a little light entertainment for him was my insulin pump.  He has always known it’s been there and figured out which button switches the backlight on and off, but we started talking about what it actually was.

I managed to record a snap shot of one of our conversations:

It will be a slow and steady process, and I will continue to teach him aspects of my diabetes that I think he needs to know and can handle.  My gorgeous eight year old daughter, Aspen has coped well with everything she has observed and I have taught her.  I have two of the most delightful guardian angels by my sides and I am eternally grateful.

Kids Otways

2 thoughts on “It’s Easy As 1, 2, 3…

  1. Jeann says:

    I am just catching up on posts!
    My 2 grandchildren have know from an early age that I have diabetes and need to ‘prick’ my finger to find my level and to inject (when I was on the pen) and now to input info into the pump (I don’t have CGM). They have been given age appropriate info when they have asked. And they know that the jelly beans are mine! My grandson will occasionally ask for jelly beans because he is ‘feeling low’ – this with a big grin on his face (and, no he does not have diabetes). Two jelly beans is the limit. My granddaughter was supportive and understanding when a fellow student began using a pump.
    Kids can be wonderfully understanding for their age when given the chance.

    • 1type1 says:

      That’s right – we must give them a chance. We all know how much support we need to love well with diabetes. Thanks for reading my blog, Jeann 🙂

Leave a Reply

