Planets Aligning

It’s funny how things happen.  I often refer to it, (like most) as the planets aligning.  It was a full moon last night.  Perhaps that had something to do with the way today turned out.  And perhaps not.  Either way I’m back on the blogging scene!

We experienced a power outage this morning.  Sitting in the dark, unpowered and cold office was less than inspiring.  I was particularly annoyed because I was trying to track down a link to an article I received via email last week.  Apparently I was referenced!  At first I thought it might be a loose reference to the Oz Diabetes Online Community (#OzDOC) that I run.  Our weekly chats achieve notable reach and have made a significant impact over the last year or so.  However it ended up being a direct reference to a blog I wrote here at 1type1  !  I was absolutely beside myself with excitement and very pleased to read such a proactive piece about psychological wellbeing in the care of diabetes.  I would like to extend a heartfelt thanks to Jennifer Halliday at the Australian Centre for Behavioural Research in Diabetes for it.  You can access the article here but consider yourself warned; you may need to pay.

I have been contemplating getting back into blogging for some months but an element of motivation was missing.  Given recent time constraints I made operating #OzDOC my priority and otherwise minimised my online presence.  I stopped writing because I was uncomfortable with the idea that my published words may be misinterpreted.  These words are of a personal nature relating to my health.  Fear of being misunderstood overwhelmed me and led me to move further and further from the blogosphere.  I also starting witnessing forms of plagiarism, little white lies and embellishments.  I have no time for these offences and I knew I had to leave the blogging scene to take a step back and breathe out.

Resolution is a beautiful thing and I have come to realise that I have no way of controlling how people interpret my musings or how people decided to express themselves online.  I will continue to write from the heart.  I will be truthful and genuine.  My aim will be to continue contributing to the body of knowledge that can help inform the direction of diabetes healthcare.  My voice will represent my experience of living with type 1 diabetes as a women, a wife, a mother, a part time worker, a volunteer and so much more.  I will move forward with compassion and mindfulness.

So I have breathed out (for quite some time now) and Jen’s article has reignited the fire in my belly to blog again.  It seems that doing this can make a difference.  Have an impact.  Influence thinking.  Instigate positive change.

It may or may not be a coincidence what so ever that the theme for our #OzDOC chat tonight is motivation.

The planets are well aligned in my universe.

Image result for water on mars

And apparently water has been discovered on Mars!

Leave a Reply

