Monday Message

And Lets kick off the week by talking about why we are here, in the diabetes blog space. What is the most important diabetes awareness message to you? Why is that message important for you, and what are you trying to accomplish by sharing it on your blog?

 

 

Insert apology here… I know I’m a few days late but I am super keen to be part of DBlog week again ūüôā

This morning I received a notification that I started my blog, 1 Type 1 exactly four years ago today. ¬†My reasons for blogging¬†were very different back then, (and I may have still giggled when I heard people say, “blogging” because it just sounded so weird!) ¬†In these four years my experience with and perspective of the diabetes online community, (DOC) has evolved.

In recent times the Oz Diabetes Online Community  , (OzDOC) has reminded of the value of learning from others. Even as I typed that last sentence I acknowledge how ridiculously rudimentary it sounds.  However, it was only after I was able to participate in chats again that this became apparent.  For over a year I was operating OzDOC by myself.  This meant that I planned the topics, engineered the questions and moderated the chat every week, (and took care of a whole lot of other bizzo in between).  I got so used to sitting in the drivers seat that I forgot why you boarded the tour bus as a passenger.  I was absolutely committed to providing the forum for the OzDOC community to be a hub of diabetes peer support but I forgot that I needed and wanted to be part of that interaction too.  I wanted to share my story and have positive impact on the lives of others with diabetes.

Thankfully there are eight people who are willing and able to help run our weekly chats now.  They are Andy , Ashley , Bruno  , Frank , Glen ,  Jenna , Sophie and Tony .  I owe them a lot.  Their dedication to our community means that we all get to participate; to give and receive diabetes peer support.  This happens in many forms but the one that is most important to me is the sharing of experiences to enhance knowledge, understanding and empathy of life with diabetes.

So I’m here to continue to share my story thought blogging again. ¬†(Insert childish giggle here!)

My thoughts.  My views.  My experiences.  My feelings.

4 thoughts on “Monday Message

  1. Melinda Seed says:

    Better late than never Kim ūüôā Glad to see you back in the blogging sphere.

  2. Kelley says:

    Happy blog anniversary!!

Leave a Reply

